New Video Card

Speaks for itself
[JiF]phantomx
Forum User

New Video Card

Post by [JiF]phantomx »

I am thinking of getting my self a new video card for Christmas (will wait for boxing day specials), and I am just wondering which might be better. A good/decent video card or two slightly less good/decent video cards, but getting two of them and either SLI/crossfire them. I personally prefer nVidia cards and have been looking at the EVGA 660Ti. But that is about a $315 card from new egg. Would it be better to say look at a few 200 dollar cards and SLI/Crossfire. I have never done this before and have always gone with the single GPU's.

any thoughts, peoples preferences?
[JiF]CowHide
Forum User

Re: New Video Card

Post by [JiF]CowHide »

If I were you I wouldn't get 2 and sli it, I would just get the one. It seems that sli is more trouble then it's worth. I've seen that sli has had problems with BF3. From what I've read about it you don't get twice the power but one of them is used more like a backup for the other, also because of sli and you'll have more heat, more power drainage and more noise. If you really want to do sli then I would do a lot of research over the pro's and con's before doing it. Also make sure your motherboard is Nvidia compatible for sli. Just get the best single video card you can get for the money that you have and you'll be happy.
Image Image
"Moo Sarge, I said Mooooooooooooooooooooooooooo !!"
[JiF]Doc
Forum User

Post by [JiF]Doc »

I highly recommend a single graphics card. There seems to be three valid reasons for running a second, third or even a fourth! gpu.

1. You want the best setup possible.
While we all do its just not always affordable or practical. For serious enthusiasts adding multiple top end cards might not be needed for gaming but can produce some great benchmark results and, well its fun to play with :)

2. You run programs at high resolutions or have multiple monitors